What ever it takes! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 17 Dec 2017 14:17:31 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Sep 09, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-09-2017.html <p>I am disapointed with my result, but since this was the first Maraton I&#39;ve run in over 4 years I really didn&#39;t know what to expect, my training was OK but I am still about 20 lbs over what I wanted to be for this race so I can&#39;t complain too much it&#39;s my fault.&nbsp; I wanted to get a BQ so my plan was to try for 3:15 which would give me a 10 minute buffer.&nbsp; I&#39;m really kind of annoyed with the 3:15 pacers,&nbsp; I was going to run with them but I ran mile 1 in 6:50 and they passed me, I heard one of them say the next mile should be 7:23 which I thought would be easy enough but they ended up running that in probably 6:45, I was about 6:53 so I gave up on trying to keep up with them.&nbsp; I ran the first 1/2 in 1:34.41 and honestly don&#39;t think was over doing it, it is really steep and I just kept running at what I felt was a comfortable pace.&nbsp; At mile 18 I was still feeling OK, but I could tell my legs were falling apart and then we left the canyon and started running up Wasatch Blvd. the sun hit me and I knew I was done for, I hadn&#39;t done any training runs in the sun.&nbsp; I trudged up the hill and actually caught up to the 3:15 pacers at the 21.5 turn around but I stopped for a water, GU and stretch break which I think was my demise, after that I could never get my legs to function properly, the final 5 miles was a sort of death march, I had heat exhaustion couldn&#39;t get enough water down and then at the final turn to head down Fort Union the 3:25 pacer passed me and I know it was over with only 2.5 miles to go, at that point I mentally gave up and just kind of walk jogged the rest of the way.&nbsp; Anyway, I&#39;m not overly upset, I really hurt today but for the most part I was just happy I could finish a marathon again after 3 years of not even being able to run.</p> Sat, 09 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 08, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-08-2017.html Fri, 08 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 06, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-06-2017.html <p>Im in Berkeley California this week, I found an amazing hiking trail up in the hills above Berkeley, I started pretty early and it was dark, there was a sign that said &quot;warning Mountain Lions in area&quot; but I figured I&#39;m in Berkeley and the Mountain Lions are probably vegetarian. &nbsp;Once I got above the fog layer it was pretty amazing, the moon was full and I could see out above the entire Bay Area.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 05, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2017.html <p>treadmill run before flying to Oakland.</p> Tue, 05 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 02, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-02-2017.html <p>4.5 miles up Dry Creek and then back down at ~5% grade</p> Sat, 02 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 31, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2017.html <p>Hotel Gym Treadmill run.&nbsp; Blah, ready to go home.</p> Thu, 31 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 30, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2017.html <p>I couldn&#39;t bring myself to run on the Hotel treadmill again today, so I did Elliptical instead.</p> Wed, 30 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 29, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2017.html <p>Treadmill miles in the hotel gym, hot and stuffy but I made it through, finished with 3 X 1600&#39;s at ~7:00 pace.</p> Tue, 29 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 28, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2017.html <p>Hamstring is a bit sore so I just did Ellipticl at the gym, and then off to the airport to spend the week in Chicago.</p> Mon, 28 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 26, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2017.html <p>16 really slow miles, todays run was harder than last weeks 21.&nbsp; Last long run until marathon day, glad to get it over with.</p> Sat, 26 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 25, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2017.html Fri, 25 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 24, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2017.html <p>6 miles on the treadmill, finished off with 5X 100&#39;s</p> Thu, 24 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 23, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2017.html <p>Woke up late and had to get a quick run in.</p> Wed, 23 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 22, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2017.html Tue, 22 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 21, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2017.html <p>Lousy run today, just wasn&#39;t fully recovered from Saturday.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 19, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-19-2017.html <p>Didn&#39;t have anyone to run with, didn&#39;t want to make my wife drive me somewhere at 4:00 in the morning, so I just got up and started running.&nbsp; Ran up the Murdock trail to Smith&#39;s then just kept going up SR-92 to AF Canyon, made it about 2 miles up the canyon until my Garmin said 11 miles then turned around and took a more direct route home for a total of 21.&nbsp; I was expecting it to be lighter at 5:30 when I got to AF canyon but it was pitch black and I didn&#39;t have any lights or anything reflective so it was a bit scary with all the Saturday morning traffic but I managed to not get ran over.</p> Sat, 19 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 18, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2017.html <p>Just went for a morning walk with my wife, no run.</p> Fri, 18 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 17, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2017.html <p>out and around Smiths. &nbsp;Nice coolish morning</p> Thu, 17 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 16, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2017.html <p>Elliptical at the gym</p> Wed, 16 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 15, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2017.html <p>For some reason my Garmin was totally dead when I went out this morning even though I had it on the charger all night. It was actually nice to go for a run without a Garmin, I still knew where the 5 mile turn around was.&nbsp;</p> <p>I tried to do some speed work but it was pretty random, just ran hard until I got tired, slowed down until I felt recovered and ran hard again.</p> Tue, 15 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 14, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2017.html Mon, 14 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 11, 2017 http://robrohde.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2017.html <p>woke up early and got my long run in today since I will be at the cabin tomorrow morning and 18 miles is pretty impossible up there. &nbsp;Too many hills. Ran out of time and was a mile short of scheduled but glad I got it done</p> Fri, 11 Aug 2017 06:00:00